04 Mar 2018

The Housing Design Awards 2018 open for entries

The Housing Design Awards 2018 open for entries

The Housing Design Awards 2018 are open for entries, supporting custom build and rewarding best practice within the housing sector.

Celebrating their 70th anniversary this year, the awards were established in 1948 in order to improve the architectural quality of post-war Britain.

Setting strong standards for housing design, they remain the only sector awards to be promoted and supported by all five of the UK’s major professional architecture institutions, including Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) and the Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologies (CIAT).

Playing a key role in supporting local authorities and housing companies, the Housing Design Awards 2018 are seeking entries for numerous categories, including Best Development for Housing our Ageing Population, the Richard Feilden Award for Affordable Housing and the Supreme Award.

In 2016 New Ground Housing won the Richard Feilden Award in recognition of its innovative and sustainable approach to architecture and housing.

Supported by Government and its agencies, the awards unite national and local professionals working across the built environment. Each year, Government introduces new categories to evidence sector successes, including custom build schemes, which have played a key role in the awards for the past five years.

The Housing Design Awards welcome entries at all project stages, from early planning approval to completion, with particular appreciation for new and innovative markets within the housing sector. Entries can also be private or public-sector new builds, conversion or renovation schemes.

The judging will be carried out by an expert panel of industry professionals, comprising of architects, planners and researchers, including individuals from the newly named Ministry of Housing, Communities & Local Government (MHCLG), Homes England (previously the HCA) and the Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI).

OWCH's New Ground Housing

OWCH’s New Ground Housing, winner of the 2017 Custom Build Award

Entries are open until 14th March 2018 and applications can be made on the Housing Design Awards website.

Awards Director, Judge and Chief Executive of Design for Homes, David Birkbeck, commented: ­“These awards, set up and promoted by Government for 70 years, are there to showcase ideas for the supply of more and better homes.

“Custom build, community right to build and cohousing schemes, though few in number, always score well in the Awards because there is such a need for models for others to follow, in order to reach their goal of shaping their homes and communities.”

Words: Jen Grimble

Leave a Comment

To comment you need to login or register